Posted by: kushalashok | July 27, 2010

Running away from TC!


After giving my viva for which I dressed formally as I was suppose to give a presentation(which never happened), I left for Delhi with my senior.

We took a bus to rajpura bypass, and from there we got into another bus going to delhi.

I recently came to know about the train called “malwa express” and wanted to try it, so I convinced my senior to get off the bus at ambala station.

Entering the station area, we soon realized that we have to wait in a long queue for the tickets. Any how, we finally got the tickets just on time after standing there for about 40 min as one of the guys in our queue allowed us to come in front as our train already arrived at the platform.
We were running like anything, climbing the stairs as fast as we could.
We asked the TC if he could allot us 2 seats, but got no response.
As there was no space in the general coach, we had to get in to a reserved coach. (even those were stuffed badly)
I was hanging outside the coach, with my foot, slightly balanced at the corner.
We got inside after a while and were being pushed and hustled continuously. I was worried about the digicam in my bag. I had to keep it aside, and a guy was almost sitting on the bag. So many people stepped on my foot a number of times, while crossing me.

Then, a lady got in to the train, shouting at everyone.
As soon as the train started moving she took out a booklet from her purse n started asking for our tickets, surprisingly she was the TC(ticket checker) in civil dress. When we showed her our tickets, she started yelling at us and asked for rs 330 each. I said, “I don’t have this much money with me. I was hoping to convince her by telling her that we were students going back home.
But she wasn’t listening to us at all, soon it became clear that she is not gonna leave us without taking those Rs. 330.

So, as soon as she started yelling at another man who was also without reservation, I grabbed my bag and we ran out of there.
After leaving that coach (all the coaches were connected), we waited for a while to analyze the situation.
Every time, when we saw her coming, we started running again.

Now the thing is that, the TCs always get in from both sides. Soon we saw another TC in front of us, this one had a police man with him. But we passed him easily as we walked with lowered heads. We had to cross 2 more coaches and the train was suppose to stop at delhi after 40 min, but due to non availability of signal it stopped at a small village called Ganaur. As the senior couldn’t grab his bag, we had to run along the train asking the passengers to through out his bag.
Any how, we got his bag.

Our tickets were taken by the TC, so we couldn’t take the risk of going out via main entrance therefore we jumped the fence and started walking. After walking for about 20 min, we realized that that highway is not near, I asked a man about the highway. (who was staring at us already due to our different clothes n style, my i-pod wire going from one pocket to another as there was no time for listening songs then) He told me that it was 3 km away, so we hired an autorikshaw and reached the highway.

Now all the buses kept going the other way. After a while, a DTC (delhi bus) came and we almost jumped in front of it to make it stop (DTC usually doesn’t stop at places other than its regular stops)

We got in to the bus and threw our bags on the seats taking a long breath of relief.

And guess what, the TC of bus started asking us “what are the rates from here to Delhi?”

He was giving away a ticket for Delhi from that village for the first time.
The senior said, “I am never gonna travel with you again” and we laughed about it.


P.S.=This was an unforgettable journey, which involved my encounter with a lady TC for the first time.

Categories

