Posted by: kushalashok | November 16, 2010

Children’s Day Special

I have been looking forward to work for some NGO during my leisure time. A similar thing happened when I read a message from a Live On Campus employee regarding, volunteering at Jamghat NGO; helping them celebrate children’s day! I decided at that moment itself that I am going to do it. I reached the Live on Campus office from where 2 seniors accompanied me and we left for the Tagore International School (Delhi) where the program was to be organized. Children from many different NGOs were channeled there. As it rained unexpectedly, the ground got wet and the stage programs were now to be conducted in the school auditorium. The children were accompanied by their respective volunteers. We were there to represent Jamghat so we clicked some photographs while waiting for the children to come out of the auditorium. The kids were just adorable. They loved getting photographed and threw a big smile. There were many joy rides for the kids, who were queued and watched by the volunteers. We took care of some kids by taking them for rides. All the children were queued for having food. Jamghat had brought 55 children which included kids of different age groups. We accompanied them while waiting in the queue and made them sit after they got the food.

This whole experience was just fantastic. We noticed that small children tend to cling to each other as they are frightened of getting lost. I am glad that I utilized my day by doing something grateful. And I am thankful to the Live on Campus people who made this possible. Their company was very pleasant and I felt like I was with my friends.

P.S.: It feels great to be a part of some social cause!

Categories

