Posted by: kushalashok | December 21, 2010

Summer Sisters

Another work of fiction!

My rating: 6/10

Most interesting character: Caitlin Somers

Never heard the name ‘Judy Blume’ before, but while browsing some novels at the Opulent Mall, I came across this novel with a tag saying it was a New York Times Bestseller. The novel had the title, “Summer Sisters”. People often judge a novel by its title alone, but I preferred to read a little and get a taste of it. Eventually I ended up buying it. It was my idea for time pass while I travelled back and forth between Patiala and Delhi at weekends. At first I thought it was just another crude novel trying to entertain readers with descriptions of some alluring scenes but later I realized it was far more compulsive than I thought. It was warm, intriguing, nostalgic, moving and entertaining as hell. I was laughing and crying, sometimes at the same time. The story revolves around two characters called Caitlin and Victoria who are ‘summer sisters’ having a bond which is far peachier than what one could expect between real sisters. The conditions of their families and what they had to go through are realistic and striking.

P.S. : I reckon this is an adult book for young adults!

Responses

  1. Man, you are growing fast and growing well…….seems like your writing and vocabulary has surpassed me beyond levels which I could have never imagined. Must be the result of those multiple books which you have read in the past few years. Well, keep it up! It’s always a pleasure going through your blog. 🙂

    • Thanks a lot for this pat on the back bro! I really appreciate you posting a comment like this.


Categories

