Narration of my HR Interview (Infosys)

Following is an approximate narration of my HR interview with Infosys. The answers mentioned here need not be correct. But I managed to stay confident and somehow got selected. (I couldn’t remember all of it, but it’s nearly the same)

Note: Most of the questions are raised from your resume, so always have enough knowledge about each thing that you mention. I hope it can help.

“Good afternoon sir”

Good-afternoon, please have a seat.

“Thank you”

Fill up this sheet.

A sheet with columns for my rollno, name and signature was filled.

Give me your resume.

I opened the portfolio, took out the resume and handed over gently

So your father works in NTPC?

“No sir, my mother is a school teacher there and thus we are living in the quarter allotted to us.
My father is a businessman”

What kind of business?
“He deals with plastic bottles and their marketing”

Only marketing? No manufacturing?
“Manufacturing as well, but not on that level”

Interviewer analyzes the resume

What is this KPS?
“It is Kalka Public School in New Delhi, I lived there in a hostel during my +1 and +2.”

So what difference did you find in the hostel life?
“I learned a lot of things in the hostel, being independent and understanding people are some of them. Also, as I am the only child of my parents, I learned sharing stuff and adjusting with my room-mates there.”

Other than the unavailability of home-cooked food, what problems did you face in the hostel?

“I missed the guidance of my father, because at home he was always there for me guiding me through every walk of life. This was something I had to learn to live without.”

I am talking about the problems in your hostel.

“Oh! In the hostel itself, brooming and washing my clothes was a new thing for me as I never did it at home.”

So how did you manage?

“I learnt it eventually as I had no other option; moreover all my fellow hostellers were facing the same problems so we all helped each other.”

After what time did you wash your clothes? Once a month or once a week?
“Once a week, because I had enough clothes with me to manage for that period of time”

So how did you get into this University, via AIEEE or what?

“Yes, I came here through AIEEE. There was a counselling organized by PTU and as my rank was good enough, I got the seat here.”

So where are you living now?

“I live outside the university in a rented room as I couldn’t get the hostel in the first place due to the shortage of rooms”

How many roomies do you have?

“Earlier I was living alone, but now there are 3 of us.”

Who does the cleaning here? Do you have any turns for that?

“No sir, we don’t do it by turn. All three of us clean the room together once a week by dividing the work. Like… one of us would be brooming while the other would be cleaning the stuff, etc”

And what about the food; who cooks?

“None of us can cook, so we have our food outside. As the university allows us to open an account at the hostel mess, we used to eat there but these days we are relying on the outside restaurants and Dhabas, because we found that the food quality is good here.”

You didn’t find the food quality good in Delhi?

“We have all kind of food in Delhi and with pretty good quality as well. But the hygiene and quantity was not that good as compared to Punjab if we talk about it at the student level. I mean within my budget.”

And what kind of problems did you find here?

“I didn’t find many problems here, as the people are very helping and friendly. I made friends quickly and managed well. Of course the language problem was there at first because I didn’t know Punjabi, but I got over it soon.”

So how many friends do you have here?

“Well I don’t have an exact count of them coz there are many, actually I have been hanging out with a lot of people”

And what about good friends?

“Again there are many and for my birthday if I treat all of them, the count reaches about 40 easily. But if being together all the time is your concern, then there are just 3 of us.”

Which stream do you have here?

“Computer science”

You had it by choice or by default?

“By choice sir!”

Which is the mother branch of computer science?

I am not sure about that, but it is a kind of science. So maybe the mother branch is Science only”

(Please email me the correct answer at

So where did you do your summer training?

“I had my summer training at HCL CDC Ghaziabad and made a project using Dot NET, but I really enjoyed my training at MSME in Delhi, when I learned Mobile Phone repairing. We learned how to check all the components, by using the circuit diagram and a lot of other things.”

Do we have the same circuit diagram for all brands of mobile?

“No sir, each model has a different circuit diagram. Of course the components are mostly the same, but knowing the circuit is very important for repairing.”

Where do you get this circuit diagram from?

“All these are easily available at Gaffar market in Carol Bagh, Delhi. Rather one can buy the whole mobile repairing kit from there as it is the hub for mobile phones.”

So if we bring a mobile from America, can we make it work here in India?

“Yes sir, we can make it work, because the technology used behind is the same these days. The only difference might be coz of the radio frequencies.  If the phone supports enough frequency bands, we can make it happen. Also, there are certain codes and methods which can unlock the phone and make it work in a different scenario.”

What are the main causes of defects in a mobile?

“There are three major causes… moisture, dust and shock. For those with shock, we mostly need to check the components but we can try getting rid of the dust and moisture by cleaning the mobile with acetone.”

And you like motorcycling?

“Yes sir, it is my favourite hobby. I have joined a club in Delhi and we organize various trips which are open to all. Generally the motorcycling clubs have some restrictions like… you need to own a particular kind of bike like Royal Enfield. But we never had such restrictions in our club.”

But one still need to have a motorcycle to join, right?

“Yes sir, but one can be a pillion rider as well and we encourage and arrange the rides for those who don’t have a vehicle but want to join”

Do you have 2-stroke or 4 stroke bikes?

“2 stroke motorcycles are not in the market sir, most of them are 4 stroke”

What do you mean by 4 stroke?

Sorry sir, I do not have the answer for that. But I always try to learn more and more by paying attention and learning from my mechanic when I get my bike serviced.”

(The four strokes refer to intake, compression, combustion (power), and exhaust cycles that occur during two crankshaft rotations per power cycle of the four cycle engines. reference: )

But as you are so much interested in motorcycling, you must know this right?

“Definitely sir, but I am still learning and as you have mentioned it I am certainly going to Google it when I get back home.”

Which bike do you have?

“I have a Bajaj XCD right now”

What is the horse power that it provides?

“It’s around 12 bhp”

What do you understand by rpm? And how does it affect a bike?

“It is rotations per minute. When one needs to buy a bike, the one which can produce more bhp at lesser rpm is considered to be more powerful. Also there is a bore to stroke ratio which is directly proportional to the engine’s output. The bore means diameter of the cylinder bore and stroke is the length through which the piston moves.”

Ok. Do you have any questions?

“No sir”

Thank you

“Thank you sir, it was really nice talking to you”

4 thoughts on “Narration of my HR Interview (Infosys)

  1. He he ! Nice conversation there ^_^
    Aur tu hostel mein jhadu kab mara bey??? Woh to aadmi rehta tha na karne ko !!
    And that birthday friend count of 40…….does it include me or not? 😛

    neways nice post and cool blog……keep it up !

    • lol 😀 “wo aadmi jab jhadu marne ata tha to main aur Akhil ghar gaye hote the!” 😛

      and of course you are among those 40 bro 🙂

      tnx for the read and comment!

Comments are closed.