Posted by: kushalashok | November 1, 2011

Revolution 2020 by Chetan Bhagat : Novel Review

Revolution 2020I ordered this novel in spite of the negative reviews and by the time it got delivered, I was pretty upset about making a wrong choice. But as I was free coz of Diwali Holidays, it worked as a pass-time.

The start-off was fine with the infantile childhood memories, but the story was unable to take effective turns I guess. Although I did enjoy some of the lines (which I even tweeted while I was reading), there were not enough punches in this one.
One thing that I like the most about Mr. Chetan’s novel is that the humor is maintained even in the worst situations. For instance, in his last novel called “2 states”, there was reference to the weird underwear of the guy when he was worried about his marriage.

Anyhow, this post is about Revolution 2020 and I intend to keep it short, because it doesn’t have much to discuss about.
As for the story, it is quite simple and kind of predictable at most points. You can read the synopsis at: http://www.chetanbhagat.com/books/revolution-2020/

The prologue and epilogue were used in a very conventional style, with the whole novel being a narration of the guy who suffered the most. The character’s emotions were portrayed pretty well and his changing course of life and thoughts was the only curve.

Maybe this was just a try to make us understand the effects of corruption and a story telling that “money can’t buy you happiness”.

Following are the concerned tweets:

Related articles

Responses

  1. […] Revolution 2020 by Chetan Bhagat : Novel Review (kushalashok.wordpress.com) […]

  2. i pre-ordered this book and havta say it-reading that book was a waste of my time
    Still you can read my review here
    http://goo.gl/8JuJJ

  3. Really no matter if someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other people that they will help, so here it happens.
    Shirley


Categories

